VEM innovative, future and customer oriented

VEM is an innovative, internationally-active and reliable manufacturer of technically sophisticated system and drive solutions, custom drives and single components. The output capacity ranges from 0.06 kilowatts to 60 megawatts / 90 megavolt ampere. Continuity and reliability, including in the future, this is what the production and service at VEM stands for. The engineering and quality of the products with the VEM logo are trendsetters within the market.

The direct way to our products: Electronic Catalogue VEMeKAT


Invitation to 17th Technical Conference Focus on drive technology – Innovative developments in a traditional branch

From 18th to 19th September 2019, this year's Technical Days of the VEM Group will take place in Wernigerode.

This year‘s conference is already the 17th time that VEM has organised its two-day knowledge forum on current developments of particular relevance to the branch. Topics at the focus of this year’s event include product innovations for low- and high-voltage applications, as well as for drive systems, digitisation of the branch and recent technological advances in electrical engineering.
The use of new materials, the latest European legislation on energy efficiency and practical examples of electric drive applications will similarly play an important role.

Manufacturers, partners and users of electric machines can look forward to the 17th Technical Conference as a source of inspiration and a platform for valuable discussion and exchanges.

For questions or your registration, please contact us by e-mail at kerstin.margila@vem-group.com.

To register you can use the following online form: Registration form.

You can download the complete program with all lectures and speakers here.


Zwickau invests in the redesigning of a production hall Everything is now ready for the next step in redesigning of the entire hall.

Many of the machines in the mechanical workshop have already been replaced over the past years. The idea is that the machin- ing of rotors, shafts, housings with terminal boxes and now also end shields should be controlled according to material flows. The placing of an order for two new EMAG VL5i machining centres was an ideal opportunity to redesign the production area for end shield machining. In summer 2018, work began with partial refurbishment of the floor. The entire EV cabling was replaced and data lines were laid to enable integration into the company’s SAP system and thus paperless manufacturing in the future.

Following commissioning of the machining centres in October 2018, EMAG provided on-site training for the operators. One of them is Dirk Schubert. He manufactures end shields of all sizes in grey cast iron or aluminium for projects requiring batches of at least  10 workpieces. The EMAGs can also be used for contract production for other VEM locations. There is now nothing in the way of progress to the next step.
Dirk Schubert has been working on the new EMAG VL5i end shield machining centres since October 2018.


Wernigerode invests in a new mashining centre Wernigerode has invested in a new VHC2-3000 XTS machining centre from AXA Entwicklungs- und Maschinenbau.

When the shaft end machining centre enters production
in the third quarter of 2019, it will realise several techno- logical benefits. The swivel-head milling spindle will permit the machining of shaft ends for all shaft heights required
in Wernigerode. In the past, the unmachined shafts had
to be sent to an external provider to be cut to length and centred. In future, these process steps can be handled
on the new machine. That not only enhances in-house value creation, but also enables better and more flexible response to individual customer wishes. Another plus: Inhouse manufacturing is a key to even higher quality, thanks to unbroken monitoring of the production process.
In addition, the new machining centre allows more flexible organisation of the cutting and centring stages, for example by enabling key slots to be milled into otherwise finished shafts. Working conditions are also improved by the generous layout of the production hall, especially when working with unmachined shafts in lengths over 3,000 mm. All in all, the purchase of the shaft end machining centre is in every way a good investment, as it renders replacement of an older machine superfluous.


New insulation robot at Sachsenwerk Installation boosts production capacity for high-voltage coils

With the recent purchase and installation of a new insulation robot, VEM Sachsenwerk GmbH has killed two birds with one stone. Firstly, it enables the electric drive specialist to practically double the number of insulated copper-wire coils it can produce. That not only expands production capacities, but also improves overall production conditions. At the same time, the commissioning of the new plant – at a cost of around €750,000 – is an investment in the future. “We intend to continue with further investments to support our core competences winding and coil manufacture over the next two years. After all, they represent the heart of an electric machine,” says Sebastian Wolf, head of the coil manufacturing department. The new insulation robot achieves tangible enhancement of the wrapping quality for the insulation of high-voltage machines from Sachsenwerk. “We are now even better able to meet both our own quality ambitions and the ever-increasing demands of our customers,” Wolf continues. With reference to the bulging order books, he also emphasises that this modern technology does not place jobs in danger. On the contrary, it is actually contributing to the creation of new jobs at Sachsenwerk.


News

Fairs & Events

IMPULSE Magazine

Tools & Infos

Elektronischer Katalog VEMeKAT

Ihr Konfigurator für Elektromotoren und Antriebslösungen von VEM

VEMeKAT v10

RAIL Live! 2020

Fachmesse für Schienenverkehrstechnik in Madrid, Spanien, 31. März bis 2. April

RAIL Live! 2020

SPS 2019

Fachmesse für elektrische Automatisierung

Halle 3, Stand 268

VEM - Die Kompetenz für Motoren und Antriebe

Im Leistungsbereich von 0,06 kW bis 60 MW / 90 MVA

Imagefilm der VEM Group jetzt ansehen


VEM innovativ, zukunfts- und kundenorientiert

VEM ist ein innovativer, international agierender und zuverlässiger Hersteller technisch anspruchsvoller System- und Antriebslösungen sowie von Spezialantrieben und Einzelkomponenten. Der Leistungsbereich umfasst 0,06 Kilowatt bis 60 Megawatt / 90 Megavoltampere. Kontinuität und Verlässlichkeit auch in Zukunft – dafür stehen Produktion und Service bei VEM. Engineering und Qualität der Produkte mit dem Markenzeichen VEM sind richtungsweisend am Markt.

Der direkte Weg zu unseren Produkten: Elektronischer Katalog VEMeKAT

Umstellung ausgewählter Typen auf neue Typenreihe (IE3-W41 → IE3-W43)

Wir sind kontinuierlich bestrebt, unser Produktportfolio im Interesse unserer Kunden fortlaufend zu ergänzen und zu optimieren.
Aus diesem Grund haben wir einen Teil unserer IE3-W41.-Reihe auf eine optimierte IE3-W43.-Reihe umgestellt.

Weitere Motortypen werden fortlaufend ergänzt. Die Umstellung wird bis zum 31.12.2019 abgeschlossen sein.

Detaillierte technische Informationen dazu können Sie unserem elektronischen Katalog entnehmen.

Bei Bedarf sind die abgelösten Motortypen ab sofort nur noch auf Anfrage erhältlich.
Die Ersatzteilverfügbarkeit ist selbstverständlich im Rahmen der gesetzlichen Verpflichtungen gewährleistet.

Ihr VEM-Team steht Ihnen gern bei Fragen zur Verfügung. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns dazu unter motors@vem-group.com


Zwickau investiert in die Neugestaltung einer Fertigungshalle Für die Umgestaltung der kompletten Halle ist jetzt alles für den nächsten Schritt vorbereitet.

In den vergangenen Jahren wurden in der mechanischen Ferti- gung bereits viele Maschinen ersetzt. Materialflussgesteuert sollen Läufer, Wellen, Gehäuse mit Klemmenkasten und auch Lagerschilde bearbeitet werden. Die Bestellung zweier neuer Bearbeitungsmaschinen der Marke EMAG VL5i war Anlass, den Bereich neu zu ordnen. Im Sommer 2018 begann die Umgestaltung des Fertigungsbereichs für die zukünftige Lagerschildbearbeitung mit einer Teilsanierung des Fußbodens. Komplette EV-Leitungen wurden erneuert und Datenleitungen für die Unternehmenssoftware SAP gelegt, um in Zukunft papierlos fertigen zu können.

Nach Inbetriebnahme des Bearbeitungszentrums im Oktober 2018 schulte die Firma EMAG die Mitarbeiter vor Ort. Zu ihnen gehört Dirk Schubert. Er fertigt Lagerschilde aller Baugrößen mit den neuen EMAG`s in Grauguss oder Aluminium, wenn die Losgröße mindestens 10 Stück beträgt. Lohnfertigung für andere VEM- Werke ist auch möglich. Nun steht dem nächsten Schritt nichts mehr im Wege.


Wernigerode investiert in neues Bearbeitungszentrum Wernigerode hat in ein neues Bearbeitungszentrum des Typs VHC2-3000 XTS der Firma AXA Entwicklungs- und Maschinenbau investiert.

Mit dem geplanten Produktionsstart der Wellenenden- bearbeitungsmaschine im dritten Quartal 2019 kommen dank der neuen Technik mehrere Vorzüge zur Geltung. Die Frässpindel in Schwenkkopfform ermöglicht eine Wellenendenbearbeitung von Rohwellen aller am Standort benötigten Achshöhen. Die Fertigungsprozesse Ablängen und Zentrieren wurden bisher durch externe Lieferanten realisiert. Nun können sie auf dieser Maschine umgesetzt werden. Damit erhöhen sich nicht nur Wertschöpfung und Fertigungstiefe. Auch die Produktion kann flexibler und besser auf Kundenwünsche abgestimmt werden.

Ein weiteres Plus: Dank der Fertigung im eigenen Haus kann der Kunde auf höhere Qualität setzen, die im Produktions- prozess durchgehend überwacht wird. Zudem erlaubt das neue Bearbeitungszentrum, Abläng- und Zentriervorgänge flexibler zu gestalten und Passfeder- nuten bei fertig gedrehten Wellen zu fräsen. Die großzügige Gestaltung des Produktionsraumes erleichtert gerade für Rohwellen mit einer Länge über 3.000 mm bessere Arbeitsbedingungen. Alles in allem erweist sich die Anschaffung der Wellenen- denbearbeitungsmaschine als gute Investition. Macht die Anlage doch den Ersatz einer Altanlage überflüssig.


Neuer Isolierroboter im Sachsenwerk Anlage erhöht in der Spulenfertigung Zahl der produzierten Hochspannungsspulen

Mit dem Kauf und der Errichtung des neuen Isolierroboters schlägt die VEM Sachsenwerk GmbH zwei Fliegen mit einer Klappe. Damit kann die Zahl der aus isoliertem Kupferdraht gefertigten Spulen annähernd verdoppelt werden. Das verbessert die Produktionskapazitäten und Produktionsbedingungen bei dem Hersteller elektrischer Antriebssysteme. Zudem ist die Inbetriebnahme der rund 750.000 Euro teuren Anlage eine Investition in die Zukunft. „Gerade in unsere Kernkompetenz Wickelei und Spulenfertigung als Herzstück einer elektrischen Maschine wird in den kommenden beiden Jahren weiter kräftig investiert“, sagt Sebastian Wolf, Leiter des Bereiches Spulenfertigung. Der neue Isolierroboter liefert eine spürbar höhere Einbindequalität der Isolierung in den Hochspannungsmaschinen aus dem Sachsenwerk. „So sind wir jetzt besser in der Lage, sowohl unseren eigenen Qualitätsansprüchen, als auch den steigenden Anforderungen der Kunden gerecht zu werden“, freut sich der Fachmann. Mit Blick auf die rappelvollen Auftragsbücher unterstreicht er, dass die moderne Technik keine Arbeitsplätze überflüssig macht, sondern vielmehr dazu beiträgt, dass im Sachsenwerk neue Arbeitsplätze entstehen.


News

Messen & Veranstaltungen

26 Nov

SPS 2019

21 Apr

TOC Asia 2020

IMPULSE Magazin

Tools & Infos